Jump to Navigation

What are the penalties for drinking and driving in Idaho?

When drivers operate a vehicle impaired in Idaho, they may have to spend time in jail and pay a fine on top of losing their driving privileges.

In Idaho, according to the Governors Highway Safety Association, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level of 0.08 or higher. Those who drive with a BAC level at or above this legal limit face the severe penalties associated with DUI. However, the severity of these consequences depends on the number of prior drunk driving offenses on the driver's record.

First offense

According to the Idaho Transportation Department, a first impaired driving conviction is considered a misdemeanor offense. Drivers convicted of DUI for the first time may have to spend up to six months in jail and pay a fine of up to $1,000. Their driver's license may also be suspended for anywhere from 90 to 180 days.

Second offense

Like a first DUI offense, a second DUI violation is also considered a misdemeanor offense, states the ITD. Drivers who receive their second DUI within a 10-year period may have to pay a fine of up to $2,000, spend between 10 days to a year in jail and may have their driver's license suspended for a year. For a second DUI offense, the use of an ignition interlock device is also mandatory.

Third offense

In Idaho, according to the ITD, drivers who drive impaired three times within 10 years commit a felony offense. This crime is punishable by the requirement to:

  • Spend between 30 days to up to five years in jail
  • Pay a fine that does not exceed $5,000
  • Go without a driver's license for up to five years

Drivers who commit their third DUI are also required to use an ignition interlock device in the vehicle they own or operate.

Enhanced DUI penalties

Although driving with a BAC level of 0.08 or higher is against the law in Idaho, drivers who operate a vehicle with a BAC level at or above 0.20 face elevated penalties, states the ITD. For example, drivers who receive their first DUI for driving with a BAC level of 0.20 or higher may have to spend between 10 days to a year in jail and pay a fine that does not exceed $2,000. They are also subject to one year of mandatory license suspension.

Drivers in Idaho who receive a DUI may worry about how a possible conviction could affect their finances, standing within their local community and employment prospects. If you were arrested for drinking and driving, speak with an attorney to determine what steps should be taken next.

Keywords: DUI, drunk driving, arrest, penalties

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Privacy Policy | Law Firm Marketing by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.